A loan of $400 helped to buy merchandise for resale.

Ruth's story

Ruth is 22 years old. She lives with Walter, with whom she has two children who are three years old. She is also 8 months pregnant with a third child. They live in their own house in the indigenous community of Santa Rosa in Chanchamayo.

She works with great dedication for the future of her family. Since she joined her life with Walter's, she started to work where she could find employment, but with her characteristic intelligence, she decided two months ago to open a business selling groceries and basic supplies. "I started out selling frozen drinks, and now my store is well-stocked", she said.

She also rents plots where she grows oranges and bananas; she pays the rent with the money she makes from the fruit that she harvests. She has been doing this for one year with the help of her husband. She spends the majority of her time in her store and taking care of her small children. Thus, she needs to hire help someone to help her in the fields. She says that the her business has recently begun to stabilize and allow her to sustain her family, but she is confident that with the support of these loans and her effort she will be able to achieve a better quality of life for her children.

This is the first loan Ruth is seeking from MFP. For this reason she is determined to make her repayments punctually. She joined the communal bank "Las Rositas de Ubiriki", where she feels comfortable and enjoys having responsible companions.

With the funds she is seeking, she will buy merchandise to stock her grocery store. The remainder will be to pay the laborers who harvest her crops.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Kevin Bohnert

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details