A loan of $575 helped to buy spare parts and tools.

Rafael's story

Rafael is 36 years old and is a very friendly and hardworking man. He lives with 28 year old Nelsi and they have a two year old son named Rafael Jr. He lives in a home of his own, along with his wife and son. Each day Rafael goes out very early to the different streets around the city to look for his eventual passengers who are seeking travel for themselves and their cargo around the city, or at times to the outskirts.

Aside from this work, he also works sometimes as a mason, specializing in floors and columns in the various jobs in the city. How he offers his services depends on how the labor market is. He has been doing this kind of work for 15 years and he learned everything he knows about construction from his father, whose advice he appreciates. He likes his work because it provides him with good earnings, even though it’s very exhausting because he has to be in the sun and sometimes in the rain, but he does the best he can. If he can see his family happy, then he is capable of all that and much more. Now he’s thinking about starting a business out of his home that his wife can manage, but first he wants to have a moto-taxi, so that he can lease it out to produce additional income.

This will be his second loan through MFP and he is very grateful to know that he has financial support and he feels sure to be able to advance his work. He is also committed to making his payments on time, as he has with previous loans. He is also glad to be part of his communal bank because all of the members are united and responsible. He will the 1,500 from this loan to buy some parts and spares to repair his vehicle, because it needs repair due to wear over time. He will also buy some construction tools so that he can work on his own.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Hugo Reyes

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details