A loan of $1,500 helped to buy chicks and materials to raise chickens.

Pilar's story

Pilar is 51 years old. She is a good, kind and enterprising woman. She lives with her spouse and has two children, aged 25 and 12. She lives in her own house and works hard to offer a better quality of life to her family. Pilar's work is raising poultry. She has two sheds very close to the city and she goes there every day with her spouse to check on and feed her animals. Her average production is 1,500 chickens every 45 days, which is the average time needed to raise the chicks to be ready for market. She has dome this job for approximately 5 years and it is something she learned little by little. She likes her work because it gives her time to do more things. She only uses half the day to be in her sheds and the rest of the day she is at home with her children helping them with anything they need. Every day she is more convinced that the work she does is good, since she has a lot of regular customers who wait for her monthly production because her chickens are big, plump and healthy. Now she is preparing to have one more shed and she is convinced that with her hard work she will keep growing. This will be her 13th loan with MFP. She hopes for your cooperation to continue with her goals. She is also committed to making her payments on time as with the previous loans. She also wants to keep working with the members of the communal bank because they are all kind and supportive. With the 4000 soles she has asked for, she will buy chicks to raise. She will also replace some things in the sheds where she raises her birds.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ellen Donohue

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details