A loan of $1,125 helped to rent a tractor.

Pelaya's story

Pelaya is 61 years old, she is happily married, and she has already been with her husband for 30 years. They both live in the company of 3 of their 6 children, with whom she lives in her own house, located in the town of Cajas. All her life she has been working arduously at argricultural tasks. Her years of experience in cultivating the land bring her satisfaction because for more than 30 years she learned, together with her husband, how to extract profit from agricultural activities. Her 6 children, now grown, are honest men and women and have been financially supported by this important source of income. Currently she works solely at cultivating corn, potatoes, alfalfa, and principally wheat. She herself takes charge of commercializing them to obtain profits. Her great longing is to see her last 2 children finishing their studies, which will take a few years yet, and this is the reason for her daily exertions. She belongs to the communal bank “Mi banco” and this is the sixteenth loan with MFP, where she is grateful for the support from all of you since she will obtain the loan that she needs to achieve her objectives. Furthermore she promises to be punctual with the repayment installments, and the members of her association are responsible and supportive. Pelaya, once she receives her support, will invest the requested money in a payment to rent a tractor to prepare her land to sow corn.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Tamara Hellgren

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details