A loan of $575 helped to buy more fruit.

Shirley's story

20-year-old Shirley is a woman with a lot of hopes and a desire to make progress through her own efforts. She is kind and friendly towards others. Shirley lives with Luis who works in transportation and is the father of her only daughter, 3-year-old Sahomy, who she loves very much. They live comfortably together in her grandfather's home together with her grandfather.

Shirley's business is selling regional fruits in the mornings. She sets up a table in front of her home and serves her customers in a very kind and friendly manner. She also works as a correspondent in the afternoons as she studied journalism. This makes her additional income. Shirley started her business through a loan from MFP and she works alone.

Shirley considers her business to be fairly profitable because of the money it makes her. As she is the only person in her area who has this kind of business, her products are in demand. She started her business because she wanted to become a productive person who made her own income. She did not want to be completely dependent on her partner but instead wanted to help him cover their household expenses. Given the results she has experienced in her business, she would like to continue working in it and use the profits she makes, together with a future loan, to open a poultry store near her home. She sees this as a good business opportunity as there is no other business of this type in her area.

This will be Shirley's fourth loan from MFP. She is happy to know that she will have financial support in achieving her goals. She is happy with her community bank as it is a united and supportive group. Shirley will invest the 1,500 soles she has requested in buying products for her fruit business and making some repairs to her home so that she can set up a space for her new business.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Linda Oxnard

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details