A loan of $575 helped to buy ingredients and utensils.


Jessica's story

22-year-old Jessica is a nice, kind, hard-working woman. She is married and has two children. She lives in her in-laws' home together with her husband and children. She works hard as she would like to provide her family with a better quality of life.

Jessica's work starts very early in the morning when she gets up to go to the market. Here she seeks out the ingredients she needs to make her evening sales. Her business is preparing food which she sells on the sidewalk outside her in-laws' house. She works alone and has been in her business for two years. It is making her good income with which she is able to support her household. Jessica enjoys her work as it gives her time free to spend with her children in the afternoons. Her children are still very young and they need their mother close by. During the time she has been working in this business, Jessica has learned to always give her customers a smile and good customer service as this makes them come back and, that way, she doesn't lose customers. She hopes to continue working and to make her business bigger.

This will be Jessica's third loan from MFP. She is very happy to know that she will have financial support as this will make her feel more secure in making progress in her business. For her part she pledges, once again, to make her repayments on time as she doesn't want to let down the members of her community bank who trust her and gave her the support she needed to access a loan. Jessica will use the 1,500 soles she has requested to buy ingredients, supplies and some utensils she needs to continue in her work and serve all her diners whose number increases every day.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Linda Oxnard


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details