A loan of $750 helped to buy windows and doors..


Irma's story

36 year old Irma is a cheerful woman. She lives with Gregorio, her husband of 8 years. Together they have 3 small children who they care for in a rented house in the Acraquia area. She feels very happy as she is on the point of owning her own house to live in. She makes a living in multiple ways. During the mornings, she works in a house where she cooks and cleans, and, in the afternoons, she works at a new university that is being built. The state pays her a monthly wage for cleaning services here. But the activity that she never fails to develop is farming. She grows corn, barley, and potatoes on her own land. At each harvest, and after much care, she sells her crops at the main market and also takes advantage of the opportunity to sell the animals that she raises, which include cows, sheep, and chickens. She would like to spend all her time farming but, as she says, "this is a long-term investment." So, she has to generate income to cover the costs of feeding and educating her children. This is her second loan from MFP, and she is waiting for a small loan so she can meet her goals. She promises to make her repayments. She is grateful to be part of the community bank because all the members are responsible and united people. On receiving her loan, Irma will use it for building her new house, which she will own. She will buy windows, doors, and other items.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Alison Hynd


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details