A loan of $375 helped to buy clothing for women and men.

Heidy's story

Heidy, 23, is a hard-working, happy, and pleasant woman who very much wants to get ahead. She and her partner Jorge live in her mother's house with her two children, ages 5 and 1, her mother, and her two younger sisters.

The work she does is sell fast food at night, such as rotisserie chicken and fried wings, among others. She sets up in front of a grocery store near her mother's house. She has been doing this job for about two years, and counts on the help of her sister. She also works selling women's and men's clothing that her aunt sends her from the city of Lima every two months to sell.

What she likes about her work is that it allows her to have a job. She was unable to finish her advanced studies and needed to have a job and an income to be able to help her partner with the household expenses because her children are small and have more needs. Now, seeing the good results of the profits it has generated for her, she plans to open a boutique or a restaurant.

This will be her second loan with the MFP institution. She feels grateful for the support offered, of being able to count on financial help to realize her plans. Also, she feels comfortable with her communal bank because she knows the members and considers them good people.

With the requested loan of 1000 PEN, she will invest in buying women's and men's clothing wholesale to sell to her friends.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Catharine Wall

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details