A loan of $375 helped to buy ingredients to prepare food.

Nimia's story

Nimia, age 27, is a happy and enterprising young woman. She lives with her life partner and their two children, ages eight and six, in her own house. Her 15 year old brother is also under her care. He is dependent upon her for his education and food, and he is like one child more for her. She has been taking care of him for a long time.

Nimia’s work is selling food. She leaves very early to look for fresh vegetables and meat. Those are the main ingredients to make her delicious dishes, which her loyal customers are used to having. She started this work four years ago because she needed to have extra income for the household.

What she likes about her work is that it allows her spare time to do other things in her house. It is going very well for her. She earns almost 50% of her investment. Also, the business is in the process of growing because she gets more customers every day. She hopes to continue growing because she has it in mind to open a restaurant.

This will be her sixth loan with the MFP institution. She therefore hopes for their collaboration in order to continue with her objectives and for the growth that is planned. Also, she is very determined to make her payment as she has done with her previous loans.

It really pleases her to belong to her communal bank. She will use the requested loan to buy ingredients and supplies to continue preparing her delicious dishes.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ginny Kalish

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details