A loan of $300 helped to buy ingredients and materials..


Dora's story

Dora is 52 years old. She is a good and friendly woman. She lives with her spouse with whom she has three children. Two of them are grown and independent, while one of them still ives with them. Together they live in their own home with their oldest son, who has his family with him. Dora's job is selling food. She goes out evenings to the sidewalk in front of her house and gets everything ready for her faithful diners who seek out her good service and excellent flavoring. She has been working for three years and she really likes it since cooking has always been her passion. At first, it was difficult since people didn't know how good her food was and they didn't go very often. But with hard work and more than anything, good service, she was able to gain customers who now seek out the delicious food she prepares. What she likes about her job is that it gives her time to do other activities during the day. It is going well for her and she has good sales every day and this is giving her good income. She is planning on expanding her business, and for that she needs to buy tables and chairs. This will be her first loan with MFP and she hopes for a little help to achieve her goals. She is also committed to being very punctual and above all responsible since she doesn't want to look bad with the group she is a part of, since they are good and friendly people. With the amount she has asked for, she will buy ingredients and materials to keep preparing her delicious dishes and offer more variety to her diners.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ellen Donohue


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details