Check out some available loans that are similar to this one!
Kem is 39 years old and earns $1 a day as a farmer. Her husband is a construction worker who earns about $4 a day. They have two children, both of whom are in school. The family's monthly expenses include $30 for food, $3 for electricity, $8 for school fees, $10 on transportation and $13 on other items. Kem is applying for a loan for $500 to buy a motorbike which her husband can use to travel to and from work, and a cow if possible. In the future, she would like to open a grocery store in her home.

Additional Information


KREDIT Microfinance Institution Plc., is one of Kiva’s most established partners in Southeast Asia. The organization empowers the economically-active poor and small entrepreneurs by providing inclusive financial services. Beyond loans, KREDIT offers low-income clients complementary training in debt management, savings and budgeting. In addition, KREDIT partners with NGOs to offer training in primary health care, agricultural techniques and HIV/AIDS awareness.

For more information on KREDIT, please visit its partner page. If you would like to engage more with KREDIT and its borrowers, you can also join its lending team, KREDIT MFI Cambodia.

About Cambodia

  • $2,600
    Average annual income
  • 55
    View loans »
    Cambodia Loans Fundraising
  • $41,847,450
    Funds lent in using Kiva
  • US Dollars
    Loan transacted in USD

Success!! The loan was 100% repaid

A loan of $500 helped Kem to buy a motorbike for her husband to use for commuting.
100% repaid
Repayment Term
17 months (Additional Information)
Repayment Schedule
Aug 8, 2011
Sep 7, 2011
Currency Exchange Loss:
Dec 15, 2012