A loan of $800 helped to purchase products like grains, oil and rice in large quantities and buy plastic tables and chairs.


Iludis's story

Iludís Ramírez D. D. is 62 years old and lives in the Bosquecito neighborhood and works making common foods. She lives with her husband and six children, who are 33 to 40 years old. In 1995, due to difficulties in the region where she had her small farm, Iludís and her husband decided to move their family to the city of Cartagena. They took very few belongings and left their animals and crops, which they later sold very cheaply in order to deal with the economic situation they were presented with. This money sustained them for a time and in order to survive in the city they began a dairy business of whey and cheese, and they began making money with this business.

As a good observer, she realized that in the area around her house, there wasn't anyone who sold food, and she decided to do so herself. This activity was welcomed by the people in the neighborhood and began to grow. With the help of her children who worked, she earned some contracts to sell lunches at companies in their area, and this has also expanded the business because they have been referred to other new businesses. Her business now covers the household expenses and allowed her children to study and they didn't have many economic necessities in the most difficult times.

Iludís has worked with the Fundación Mario Santo Domingo for more than ten years and this is her tenth loan, and her first through Kiva. With this loan, she will purchase products like grains, oil, and rice in larger quantities to make new dishes. She will also purchase chairs and plastic tables. Since she started with F.M.S.D, she has been able to capitalize and purchase equipment and tools necessary for the proper operation of her business.

Her goal in the future is to improve her business and have a better location where her customers can feel comfortable. She would also like to have employees, so that her business can earn more income and her greatest challenge is to continue working. She and her husband would like to own their own home.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Eileen Lloyd



Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details