Funded

Total loan: $1,200
Powered by 44 lenders

Roberto

Bolivia
Cochabamba, Bolivia / Personal Housing Expenses

A loan of $1,200 helped rent payment for a new home.


Roberto's story

Roberto is 60 years old, and very dedicated to his work. Currently he is a ticket-taker for a line of minibus taxis. His salary is very low, and therefore his wife helps him bring in more income in order to maintain their home by selling food in the streets. He lives with his wife and his granddaughter. He has three children who live in Spain, they migrated there because of the poor situation in which they found themselves. One of Roberto's daughters had to leave her daughter with him and his wife (the child's grandparents) since the mother of the young child was not left any other option. Roberto hasn't received any news of his sons, nor of the mother of his granddaughter.

The young girl is now seven years old and they have to take her to school, pick her up, and give her the attention that she deserves, but because of the time and the location of work and the school, it is difficult to be able to do everything for their granddaughter, and therefore they need to have a home closer to work and school, since the grandparents of the child are too old to have these kinds of responsibilities. Therefore they are requesting a loan so that they can rent a home and change locations to a more public place closer to their business. Additionally they want to save more money for raising their little granddaughter, which is the reason for the grandparents' existence.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Amy McGinty



Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Disbursed date: November 1, 2010

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Disbursed date: November 1, 2010