A loan of $200 helped to purchase pea seeds and organic fertilizer.


Alicia's story

Alicia is 24 years old, and she lives in a rented home with her partner Antonio, who is 26 years old, and with her two young children. For more than two years she has grown peas, potatoes, other vegetables, carrots, cabbage, coriander, and lettuce. This activity is her principle source of income, with which she provides an adequate quality of life for her family.



Her spouse helps her maintain her fields, but he occasionally works in other agricultural lands, such as those of his neighbors and acquaintances, earning a salary of 20.00 Soles, which covers the household expenses. Alicia leaves home in the midday to sell sweets like cookies, gelatin, flan, and candies in the door of a school nearby. She also has 16 cattle that she keeps in the highlands of Palca. She likes growing her plants the best because she is able to clearly see the fruits of her labor. With time, she hopes to plant more vegetables and peas, and to install a business selling food or a soda fountain, in the home she hopes to construct.



This is the first time she has taken out a loan with MFP, and she really likes working with this community bank, as she has participated in some meetings and assures that she will work hard to make her repayments punctually. With this loan, she will buy a bag of pea seeds and a bag of organic fertilizer.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Michelle Harrison


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details