Funded

Total loan: $2,200
Powered by 71 lenders

Corazones De Turi (Cuenca) Group

Ecuador
Cuenca, Ecuador / Animal Sales

A loan of $2,200 helped a member to purchase livestock, feed, and supplies.


Corazones De Turi (Cuenca) Group's story

The communal bank Corazones de Turi is made up of twelve members who are fighting for better futures for their families. The members live in a community having the same name as their communal bank, in the parish of Turi. Turi is located south of the city of Cuenca, and is bordered on the north by Cuenca, on the east by the parish of Valle, on the south by the perish of Tarqui, and on the west by the Parish of Baños. The central parish is located 200 meters from the city of Cuenca, and it is considered a great vantage point where locals and tourists come to enjoy the lovely panoramic view of the third most important city in Ecuador. The perish church and the hill of Hitocruz are other locations which are very popular with tourists.

On this occasion we were accompanied by a friend of one of our members who is interested in learning about the program offered by Espoir [the field partner]. From left to right, she is the lady with the green hat and the red shawl on her shoulder.

Mrs. Adriana D. lives in the community Corazon de Turi, and this is her first loan in the program. She discovered the program while attending a course on knitting and crafts. She raises animals like lambs, pigs, cuyes [guinea pigs; sometimes raised for their meat in parts of Latin America], chickens, and cows for milk. She will sell half the milk in the community, and keep the rest for herself. She has already been doing this for about 5 years.

Adriana is 23 years old, married, and has two children, ages 4 and 1. Her husband is a mason. They don't yet have a house of their own, so they are living in the home of her husbands Grandmother, keeping her company. She will use the loan money to purchase chickens to raise, and materials to construct a shed where she can raise more cuyes.

Her goal is to someday own a house of her own.

Mrs. Johanna Z. lives in the community Corazon de Turi, she's 22 years old, married, and she and her husband have a 4 year old son. She is also five months pregnant with their second child. Her husband works as a mason. They live in the home of his parents, (sharing all the expenses with them) until they own a house of their own, which is their biggest dream.

This is her first loan, and like most women in her community, she raises pigs and chickens, some of which she sells to her neighbors in her community, and the rest are consumed by her household. With the money she receives, she will purchase a pig, and the food to raise it.

In this group: Rosa Beatriz, Rosa Edelina, Johanna Elizabeth, Maria Targelia, Maria Sofia, Adriana Rocio, Maria Carmen, Veronica Maribel, Maria Florinda, Rosa Luz, Rosa Elvira, Rosa Etelvina
*not pictured

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Aaron Cannon


Loan details

Loan length:

6 months
Disbursed date: May 6, 2010
Facilitated by Field Partner: Fundación ESPOIR

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

6 months
Disbursed date: May 6, 2010
Facilitated by Field Partner: Fundación ESPOIR