Funded

Total loan: $1,450
Powered by 41 lenders

Chantsal

Mongolia
Arvaiheer, Uvurhangai, Mongolia / Primary/secondary school costs

A loan of $1,450 helped to make her children's university tuition payments.


Chantsal's story

Chantsal is 47 years old and lives with her husband and two children in Uvurhangai province, Mongolia. She and her family live together in a traditional Mongolian nomadic housing tent called a “ger” in a rented yard. Her 22-year-old son and 20-year-old daughter are both university students. They have been living together in their current home for three years.

During the day, Chantsal operates a grocery store in a rented shop with the help of her husband. She sells a variety of food products including candies, biscuits, beverages, pastries and bread. Chantsal purchases her products two to four times a week depending on product sales. She has been operating her grocery store since 2009, after working as a salesperson in her brother's similar shop. In addition, she has certificates as a cook and builder.

Chantsal is a precise person who has very good communication skills. She says, “My dream is one day to open my own shop which will save me my rental costs. The most important thing to me is to pay the university tuition fees of my son and daughter. Tuition rates have been increasing from year to year and have become a problem for us. I need to work hard to provide financial stability for my family.” She is requesting a 2,000,000 MNT loan to purchase more food products to sell at her shop and make payments for her children's tuition payments.



Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Disbursed date: May 12, 2010

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

26 months
Disbursed date: May 12, 2010