A loan of $875 helped a member to purchase fuel and seeds of potatoes for farming.

Asylkul's Group's story

Earning daily bread is an ability which every person should possess. Parents use their financial means with the purpose to send children to schools, colleges and universities and also teach their children what they know so that their children can support themselves when they are older. Competition is everywhere and to secure your own "place under the sun" one has to be the best in their business. At this very difficult for Kyrgyztan time it's very pleasant to see positive changes amongst simple folk in entrepreneurship.

Asylkul Y. is a leader of this group. Asylkul has been doing farming for the past sixteen years as well as raising six daughters. Her oldest daughters help her in any way they can and Asylkul is also able to do animal husbandry. Asylkul's husband helps her with this, who also works as a driver. Earlier her husband had some experience in agriculture. Asylkul has learned agriculture from his experience. At this time the oldest daughter is 22 years old and second oldest daughter is 20. The rest of her daughters go to school. Asylkul dreams about buying a house in Bishkek so that her daughters could get a higher education in the city. Right now Asylkul is 45 years old, she is full of life and wants her children to have a different life ahead. Asylkul very much hopes to receive this loan and invest it in fuel and potato seeds.

Asylkul's group partners are:

Toichubek T. is 43 years old. He is a member of the farmers union. Toichubek has four children. His wife has to work so that they can feed their family. They do farming together. Right now their children study in university and family's expenses are growing. Toichubek has asked for a loan to buy fuel.

Anara Anurova is 33 years old. Anara's husband works as a director with one of the international development projects. Anara is a mother of two children. She is not the one who stays at home and waits for the husband to bring money home. Anara does agriculture. She has good experience of sixteen years. She did not want to wait for her husband to give her the necessary amount of money. She hopes to receive this loan to buy fuel.

Mira B.-K. is 37 years old. Her husband works as an excavator driver and Mira works as a controller. Their salary is only enough to support the family, but is not enough for other expenses. Mira and her husband decided to start doing animal husbandry. Right now she needs a loan which will help them buy a cow.

In this group: Asylkul, Toichubek, Anara, Mira
*not pictured

Translator profile picture

Translated from Russian by Kiva volunteer Elena Fedorchuk

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details