Funded

Total loan: $725
Powered by 22 lenders

Anastacia

Peru
TARMA, Peru / Agriculture

A loan of $725 helped purchase seeds & fertilizers; pay for tractor rental.


Anastacia's story

Anastacia is 51 years old and lives by herself in her own home because her three teenage children study and live in the city. They visit her from time to time. Every day she wakes up at dawn to begin her work around the farm. She plants beans, peas, and potatoes and demonstrates great patience with her crops. Farming is tiring work for her because she spends part of her morning squatting and inspecting each plant to ensure she will have a good harvest. Anastacia generally works by herself, but when it is time to harvest, she hires workers to help with gathering all the mature produce that she will sell to the wholesalers in the city. She is very satisfied because the income she obtains from the sale of her crops allows her to provide her children in the city with a good education. Her greatest wish is for them to become professionals. In addition to farming, Anastacia raises cattle. Her cows provide several liters of fresh milk daily. In order to move forward, she hopes to plant more crops such as beans and peas so that she can generate better earnings from the sale of these legumes.

This is her fourth loan with MFP. Anastacia is content with the work of her group because all of the members are very punctual with their loan payments. She will invest her loan in the purchase of seeds for planting beans and peas, as well as fertilizers. Anastacia will also rent a tractor to help with her next planting.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Ronan Reodica


Loan details

Loan length:

12 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: April 20, 2010
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details

Loan length:

12 months
Repayment schedule: At end of term
Disbursed date: April 20, 2010
Facilitated by Field Partner: Microfinanzas Prisma