A loan of $625 helped she will buy materials for embroidery.


Alioza Marinlyn's story

Alioza is 43 years old. She has been separated from the father of her 3 grown children for some time. She lives with her youngest child in her mother's house in a populated neighborhood located south of the city. She works daily doing embroidery on knit sweaters that are produced by a well-known factory. She collects the garments once a week and later applies the embroidery to the front of the sweaters, including flowers or the landscape of the mountains. These sweaters are in high demand in other countries. She likes this work very much, since it keeps her occupied and is profitable because they pay for each embroidered item according to the details of the needles, the complexity and the time spent. When she has a lot of work she supports her daughter, since the more embroidery she does the higher her earnings. In this way she wants to provide a college education for her daughter. This is her 7th loan from MFP, and she affirms that she is committed to making her payments according to the set schedule, because she wants to continue to take out loans that will allow her to continue working. In addition, she likes her communal bank because all of the members are responsible. With the money that she requests Alioza will buy wool of various thicknesses and colors, so that her work will provide a good finish to the product and she will have better earnings.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Lisa Grobar


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details