A loan of $1,500 helped a member to buy materials to make typical clothing of the Peruvian mountains.

Sonata En Invierno Group's story

In this Alcancia communal bank are 10 hardworking women. They had the bright idea of setting up micro enterprises, putting their best skills forward in the tasks that they knew the best. They work making clothing knit out of wool and cotton thread, cosmetology, selling food in the streets, and selling shoes. In these businesses Jhovana Asensio and Rosenda S. will tell us their experiences.

I’m Jhovana. I’m 40 years old and have 2 children, one 14 and the other 2. I had to work because my husband’s work was sporadic so we couldn’t count on a regular income. I used my skill as a seamstress (dressmaking and embroidery) to make children’s clothing: polo shirts, jackets, and pants on a sewing machine that my husband had given me when we were going together. In the beginning I wasn’t making any money but this didn’t stop me from continuing with what I knew how to do best. One day the noise from the sewing machine prompted the curiosity of my neighbors and they started bringing me clothing to alter and to make. This helped me a lot and I became known and then started making school uniforms for their children. This started a siD. business and I began to make uniforms for another school and I also sold shoes. With this work I needed a semi-industrial sewing machine to fill my orders and that brought me to EDAPROSPO-PROSPERIDAD to ask for a loan. That helped me greatly because I could buy what I needed and subsequent loans helped me invest in materials for embroidery, fabric, patterns, sponge rubber, gold thread and all colors of thread that are used in typical clothing of the Peruvian mountains. All the hard work and perseverance enabled me to buy a sandwich cart. Every night I would go outsiD. my house and sell food such as hamburgers, roasted chickens. I’ve stopped this until my youngest child, the 2 year old, grows a little more. The profits that I have maD. from my businesses have solved, paying for my family’s food, and also for the school expenses, particularly of my daughter, especially when my husband doesn’t have any work. I have also been able to build our little thatched house out of good materials so that my children are much more comfortable-which they need. The loan that I would like to have is to buy, shoes, boots and slippers for my customers’ orders. My goal is to continue working very hard to give the best to my family members.

Rosenda: I’m 40, married and have two children (20, 15). I decided to work in knitting to help my husband, who is currently abroad, with the household expenses. I began to give knitting classes in crochet and with needles, and macramé, in a stand that I rented. I used this opportunity to sell the materials that they needed to make the sweaters, ponchos, and other things. In my free time I was selling shoes to my friends and acquaintances for about a year but I had to stop since the profits weren’t worthwhile. Currently I’m knitting with a group of women. The person we’re working for is in charge of exporting what we make.
The loans that I have gotten are used to buy the materials for making the knit and cotton sweaters, caps, shawls, knit shoes and cotton dresses. The profits that I get are being used to help my oldest daughter with her career in baking, buying the supplies and paying for the travel, as well as for basic household expenses. My goal is to buy a knitting machine because in the future I’d like to set up a space for a workshop in my house, which would allow me to increase my profits. I need the money to put cement on the walls so that the workshop will look good.

In this group: Maria Paula, Epifania Nancy, Liliana Beatriz, Yngrid Jhovana, Flor De Maria Jesus, Sonia Esperanza, Ceci Ocelin, Rosenda Evarista, Benilda Doris, Inelda Victoria

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Miriam Palacio

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details