A loan of $575 helped buying and reselling clothes.


Selemane's story

Selemane R. is 40 years old and is from Nampula city in Nampula province. He is married and has 5 children who are 17, 14, 11, 7 and 3 years old. The oldest four are in school and the youngest is still at home. He owns a home in Boane. He studied until the 7th grade when he had to quit school in order to fulfill his obligatory military service. He not only cares for his own family, he also cares for a nephew who is studying at the Agrarian Institute of Boane. Selemane was born in Nampula and when he was 18 he left to complete his 4-year military service. After that he went to work in South Africa for 5 years, then returned to Maputo city to raise his family, which is where he lives today. He is a permanent salesman, which he learned how to do more than 9 years ago with friends in South Africa. He does not have any employees but he counts on his wife’s help. His average salary is 4.000,00MT per month which is enough to sustain his family and save a little for future investments that will help his business grow. He learned about Hluvuku-Adsema through friends that are also Hluvuku’s clients. This is his fourth loan with Hluvuku, the other three have been in the amounts of 15.000,00MT, 18.000,00MT e 18.500,00MT, all of which he used for his business. With this loan for 20.000,00MT he wants to buy a variety of clothing to resell. The best sellers are clothing and candy, both of which have a constantly varying price. His objectives are to continue improving his business and he dreams of one day building a commercial property with more space. He pledges to pay this loan without problems so that he will qualify for future loans.

Translator profile picture

Translated from Portuguese by Kiva volunteer Rachel Crouch


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details