A loan of $1,150 helped purchase fertilizers.

Alicia's story

Alicia is 27 years old and lives her husband and their two daughters, Daniela, 5, and Mayori, 2, in a home given to her by her parents. After suffering a terrible accident 20 days ago, Alicia was left with injuries to her body and face, which is why she covers her face with a scarf to block out the sun and stave off worse infections. Before the accident, she worked daily on the fields of her parents and in-laws. Ultimately, she and her husband decided to plant potatoes and peas of their own while they left their daughter in the care of Alicia's mother. Alicia really enjoys working on the land because it's something she has done since she was very little, and now that she is recovering from her ailments at home she is very bored. Since then, her husband has been the only one working on the crops, and she hopes she'll be able to get better soon so she can help with the harvest since that's when the most work is required, but once it passes everything relaxes until the next planting. Her wish for the future is to be able to acquire her own land to cultivate. This is her second loan with Kiva partner MFP, and her husband has worked with loans in the past with his communal bank and has shown himself to be punctual with his payments. With the money Alicia is currently requesting, she plans to invest in the purchase of chemical fertilizers and some medicines for her speedy recovery.

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Marty Greenstein

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details