A loan of $500 helped prepare his fields for planting and buy insecticide.


Oswaldo's story

Oswaldo is a father, is 28 years old, and lives with his partner, the mother of his daughter, in the house they recently built with much effort, for the well being of his small daughter Mayra who is 4 years old.

When he was 18 he began to plant his own fields of potatoes and vegetables in rented plots, for which he pays annually the sum of 100 soles or more, depending on whether the land is seasonal or irrigated. In spite of his difficulties and of not having his own fields, he has never stopped planting, but to increase his income he has been working for the last three months as a driver using his brother's car and earning 20 soles daily, money that helps him maintain his family while he awaits the harvest. Once the harvest begins, he will return to his agricultural labors until he finishes the commercialization of his products in the markets of the city of Tarma. With these earnings he will be able to accumulate greater income for new plantings.

This is his fifth loan with MFP and during these cycles he has demonstrated that he is a client who repays punctually each of the scheduled payments and for this loan he reiterates his promise to make the payments on the dates set out by his community bank. The money that he requests is to have his seasonal fields plowed and furrowed with oxen. With the other part he will buy insecticide for his fields of peas,

Translator profile picture

Translated from Spanish by Kiva volunteer Daniel Burke


Loan details


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details