A loan of $5,000 helped actually open my business. Everything is signed off and ready to go. I just need funds for a few major kitchen appliances and to put a smile on my employees face by giving them their first paycheck.


Salvador's story

My name is Sal. I was born and raised in Oakland, California in the Eastlake District. I grew up in a home where I had to commit to work at an early age in order to keep our house. I began working as a newspaper delivery boy at 11 years old. I delivered 500 newspapers a day by bike. I did this everyday for about a year.
I also began working at Jackson's Liquor store on 8th Ave and E. 12th St. I made $2.50 an hour. From there, I ended up dropping out of school to work full time at a full service gas station, and also washed dishes at The Oyster Reef and The Capri. During my free time, I picked up on the hobby of barbecuing. I have hosted plenty of BBQ's from the age of 16.
I eventually learned the skills of construction, and have been working in the field ever since.
In 2001, I lost my father to lung cancer, and in 2003, my wife and I separated.
I managed to be a single Father to my 4 kids, along with taking care of my Mother.
My Mother and I put our life savings together to build a deli in memory of my Father's life-long dream.
I couldn't give my kids the things that you want to give your kids, like money for college, or brand new cars. This business is my way of leaving something to the 4 of them that I know will be beneficial in the long run.



Loan details


About Sal's Deli

Industry: Food
Years in operation: 6 months - 1 year

Follow:

Lenders and lending teams



Loan details