A loan of $10,000 helped buy more equipment for my cleaning service which will allow me to add more offerings to my business.


Rocio's story

(Translated by the Kiva Zip team)

My name is Rocio Hernandez. I am a single mother and I am from Tierra Blanca, Veracruz, Mexico - a small town very different from San Francisco. I've been in the US for 9 years, I came here to give my children better opportunities and a better future. When I first got here my sister helped me get a job and housing. With my energy and desire to succeed I was able to save money to bring my children to the US. I have three children, Eduardo is 19 years old and he's studying English and working, Paulina is 16 and she is in high school and she wants to continue studying and Marcos is 12, also studying.

My goal is to have my own house cleaning business to help my kids study and progress and also help my family in Mexico. I haven't been able to send my oldest one to college, because of financial reasons and I'm hoping I can help my younger two.

I worked with a lady who had a cleaning company for 7 years she paid me $250 a week and we used to clean at least 4 houses per day. She was unfair, she used to rush us through cleaning houses and not even give us time to eat lunch. When I asked for a raise she said no and said she could hire someone else if I didn't like it, so I left. Then I got a job at a cafe in North Beach. I recently got my hours cut back at the cafe and decided to take advantage of my knowledge cleaning houses and work on my own, I've been doing it for 6 months now and I love what I do.

In Mexico I used to sell Avon, Mary Kay, and I also had a clothing business. I couldn't grow because of my husband, he had an alcohol problem and he wasn't very supportive. I've always wanted to push myself to start something of my own, that I can take care of and put all my efforts into.



Loan details


About Rocio's House Cleaning Services

Industry: Services
Years in operation: 1 year - 3 years


Lenders and lending teams



Loan details