A loan of $500 helped to buy bales of second hand textiles to sell.

Esi's story

Esi T. is 42 years old. She is married and has three children who are pursuing education in junior and senior high schools. Esi’s husband is a welder by profession. He farms as well. Esi and the family live at a family house at Oda in the Eastern Region of Ghana. Most of the inhabitants of Oda are either farm or trade in farm products. Very few people in this area run different types of businesses.

Esi trades in second-hand textiles. She buys textile fabrics and all kinds of second-hand clothes including bed spreads, ladies’ wear and men’s wear, etc from Accra, the capital city. She then sells these items in the market square in her community. She says she also treks to nearby markets to sell. Esi has been in this business for barely year now and wants a loan to increase her working capital so that she can buy textiles in bales.

She believes the loan assistance would enable her to purchase better quality stock to serve a larger market and eventually, help to improve her family finances. She is a member of a Trust Bank group called “hwe Nyame” (translated, Look unto the Lord) Trust Group. Members in this group guarantee for one another as social collateral to access the loan and support each other in handling repayment of the loan.

Loan details

Lenders and lending teams

Loan details