100%

funded

Total loan: $1,500

Karen

Gegharkunik region, Gegharkunik Province, Armenia / Agriculture

Karen's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped to repair his tractor which he uses to earn a good income for his large family.


Karen's story

Karen is 36 years old and lives with his big family in Zovaber village of the Gegharkunik region. Karen is specialized in pedagogue and coaching, but has never worked in this area. Instead Karen has always been engaged in farming and is a master in his work.

Karen is married and lives with his wife, two school-aged sons, his parents and also his grandmother. Karen's farm is large and requires a lot of work. Consequently, he has a lot of helpers. He has cows, a calf, a heifer, lambs, sheep and chickens. Land cultivation also demands a lot of time and effort since he has a large plot of land on which he cultivates potatoes, cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, greens, garlic, onions and cabbage. These vegetables Karen takes to the city wholesale market and sells them mainly to re-sellers. His wife and mother sell his other farm products, including milk, curd, macun (national dairy-product), cheese, meat and eggs, directly from the farm.

Karen also manages to earn money thanks to his tractor with which he does different hired agricultural work in his village. Unfortunately his tractor is now out of order. This Kiva loan of 700,000 Armenian drams will be great for him to receive as with this amount he will repair this tractor which provides a rather good income for his large family.