100%

funded

Total loan: $8,500

Rosa

Flag of United States
Oakland, CA, United States / Food

Rosa's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped me to buy equipment and improve the operation of my business during COVID-19.


Rosa's story

My name is Rosa. I am originally from Guatemala in Central America. I came to the United States when I was 14 years old. I crossed Mexico and later arrived in the US, without knowing English or anybody. I started working at a store where they paid me $2.00 an hour, but I was happy just being away from my abusive house, though I did miss my grandmother who helped raise me. I had my first daughter in 1982, being myself a young girl. Soon after that, I had 3 more daughters of whom I am now extremely proud. But in that time, being 22 and with 4 daughters, everything was a struggle. After many problems with my spouse, we separated and I became a single mother. I started selling fruit, tamales and other street food to survive. The government help I received, though wonderful, was not enough. I worked as a waitress/cook and many other tasks, learning lots along the way. Slowly but surely, I succeeded with my daughters and discovered I had a talent for business. After my daughters were grown, I went to school, learned English and took a course in business administration - it is never late to start something good. When the opportunity to open my own business presented itself, I was thrilled. Las Marianas started as a restaurant and then I open a food truck to offers Guatemalan and Mexican cuisine and is located in Oakland, CA.