100%

funded

Total loan: $7,000

Ermia

Milwaukee, WI, United States / Food

Ermia's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped purchase signage for the building to attract customers, buy more business equipment, enable advertising,purchase goods and inventory to get started and provides start up working capital.


Ermia's story

My parents divorced when I was thirteen. After that , I watched my mom be the sole provider, struggle and work long hours to provide for my three older brothers and myself. Watching her work tirelessly under someone else inspired my entrepreneurial spirit. I knew that in life I would have to work , I just knew at a young age that I wanted a flexible work schedule especially if I was ever gonna be a parent. I attended college in Louisiana , studied early childhood education and had hopes of opening a day care center. I returned to Milwaukee after college and worked in the childcare industry for a few years before I had my only child at the age of 24 . This was the start of my life as a single mother. While on maternity leave without pay, I needed extra money and started working from my basement offering hair services to friends and family . I come from a family of hair stylists and doing hair was a talent that I naturally had. I never returned to the childcare industry. When my son was six months old , I enrolled at a local Technical College and received my Cosmetology license. Two years after that I obtained my Cosmetology Managers license and eventually pursued a salon establishment license. In 2000 I opened a full service hair salon . During the 15 years of owning my salon, I would often show my appreciation to clients and staff by cooking for them. Having people enjoy my food has always been rewarding to me...I hope to be able to continue to share my culinary gifts and talents in the years to come.