100%

funded

Total loan: $900

Elsa Maribel

Lima, Lima, Peru / Food

Elsa Maribel's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped She will buy many cases of beer.


Elsa Maribel's story

Elsa is 40 years old, is separated from her husband, and lives in a house with her mother and her two minor children. Since she has separated from her husband she has worked in several offices. She saw that she was neglecting the upbringing of her children. So she decided to work selling sodas and ice cream from the first floor of her mother’s house. She has worked for fifteen years in this business and she has enjoyed it. Actually, she also sells beer. The largest quantities of beer sales are during the weekends. She is well known to her neighbors and thanks to them her business has generated a good income. She is very motivated to continue working. In the upcoming months she is going to begin to knit sweaters. Her neighbor, who knits, invited her to join her in this work. She can knit while she works in her store. In the future she would like to install booths with Internet access in her large location. She would like to sell time on the Internet. This is her seventh loan with MFP and she promises to punctually pay all her payments as she has done in the past. Also, she is well regarded by the other members of the community bank who are very responsible and very hard working. Elsa would like to purchase cases of beer with part of this loan and with the other part she would like to buy yarn in many colors in order to begin knitting sweaters.

Translated from Spanish by Esther Levandoski, Kiva Volunteer