100%

funded

Total loan: $5,000

Diana

Milwaukee, WI, United States / Retail

Diana's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped grow my business with new equipment and advertising in the Latino community.


Diana's story

I am a single mother of 6 with 3 still under my wing. I am a US Citizen raised in another country (Mexico) and came back to the US at 16 years old after my father was killed by the high crime in Mexico. Coming to the US was very challenging for me, not knowing English, I started High School and worked Part Time to be able to help my widow mother and my 7 year old brother. At 23 years old, I was already a single mother of 2 kids, working full time at a Fueling Company, I was there for 13 years. I also attempted to get a degree and went to Concordia University for 1 1/2 years trying to get my degree for Business Management, but wasn't able to complete my degree having a full time job and 4 children. At age of 35, cancer came to my life. I was diagnosed with Thyroid Cancer and underwent surgery, leaving me with depression for a while. I quit my job at the Fuel Company and stayed home, depressed for 5 months. Luckily, I was able to find a job at Froedtert Hospital as a scheduler, and ironically, I ended up in the Cancer Center, the same clinic where my journey with Cancer had started just a few months ago. This helped me tremendously to get out of my depression, seeing other patients and sharing my story in my work place definitely was an eye opener. Then, 2 years later, I was cancer free! My dream was always to have my own business, and be an independent mother to offer the best future for my children. I know I can do this and help my community to grow generating employment at my salon!