100%

funded

Total loan: $4,500

Christine

Flag of United States
Chattanooga, TN, United States / Food

Christine's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped us transition from our shared kitchen space and temporary commissary space to a final retail home where we will need some new equipment, fixtures and new staff.


Christine's story

Strawberry Lemon Cheesecake video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MD7ZS5m877M I am originally from Northern Virginia, right outside of Washington, DC. My parents were both refugees from Vietnam who came here in the 70s and I was born a decade after. I always knew I had an interest in food, as I loved to watch cooking shows and pore over the cookbooks my mom had, but I never imagined going into the culinary industry until a few years exploring other areas of study in college and deciding to enter culinary school. This was a huge surprise to my parents, who did not share my "live to eat" mentality. I graduated from culinary school in 2011 but had already been working in the industry by that time. I spent nearly a decade in the industry, working in both fine-dining, short-order and pastry kitchens and even had a stint on a crepe food truck. That experience cumulatively led to burnout due to the high-pressure and aggressive working environment, and by the time I decided to move in 2015 to Chattanooga after leaving a catering director position at one of the busiest Whole Foods locations in DC, I was ready to look at other career options. Naturally, I couldn't get away from my passion for food. Even though I was tired of kitchen culture, I absolutely loved creating new recipes and cooking at home, which led to the genesis of Mama Crunk's Pies. After having my daughter Ada in 2015, I developed a love for making pies and decided to grow that love into a business. I started that business in my tiny Brainerd kitchen by selling my pies at the Chattanooga Market, and from then on, I was determined to make it a viable way to provide for my family.