100%

funded

Total loan: $2,000

Laura

San Jose, CA, United States / Services

Laura's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped me purchase in bulk some of the products my business needs - such as sponges, cleaning liquids, and towels -, as well as a uniform for my employees.


Laura's story

I was born in Boyaca, Colombia, and I am the eldest of 6 siblings. Before I turned 20 we lost both my parents, so at that age I started taking care of all my siblings. I started working for a Colombian multinational, but the economic situation in Colombia is very hard and it was not possible for me and my family to survive only on that. I arrived to the US because of a Colombian woman who contacted me in Facebook offering me a job as an external salesperson, but it turns our that she wasn't any pf the promised things. However, as the situation in my country is still bad, I decided to stay in this country that offers so many opportunities for the real hardworking people. I have two daughters who are everything to me. They are the reason why I work so hard: to ensure that I can offer them a roof over their heads, food in their table, and a good education so that they don't have to go through as many hardships as I've had. I am very grateful to your beautiful country, and specifically to San Jose, because they have allowed me to work, make my dream of having my own business come true, and promote my business and expand it throughout the Bay Area. At a personal level, my dream is to be able to buy a house to offer my daughters more stability. In order to do this, I first need to make my business grow and find more clients, But I am a very persevering woman, and I am confident that - with all of your help - I will make it.