100%

funded

Total loan: $4,000

Melissa

East Rochester, NY, United States / Services

Melissa's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped secure a brick and mortar location for MYRetreat so that it can have a consistent community to thrive in.


Melissa's story

I was raised by my mom in Rochester, NY. During the school year I played sports and in the summertime, I attended camps and traveled. I developed respect for diverse cultures. There have been conversations and life experiences that have held a mirror up to my true self. I intentionally choose relationships that are supportive of me being my true self. Being categorized as biracial has contributed to my interest in exploring my unique identity and honoring my heritage. Following graduate school, and a few years of work experience, I moved back to Rochester, NY and purchased our home. Home ownership is one life goal I've accomplished. My life goals include supporting our kids in knowing their strengths, owning a solar assisted bike, and making a pilgrimage to Mecca (Hajj). As a mom entrepreneur, I role model my strengths of creativity, active listening, rapport building, and conflict resolution. With the income, MYRetreat generates I intend on purchasing an Organic Transit ELF bike to ride to work, and I can save for Hajj. My first experience as an entrepreneur began in elementary school. I would take my weekly allowance to the dollar store and purchase packs of items like pencils, candy, and stickers. Then, I'd arrange them on a large display case in my playroom and sell the items to my friends when they came over to my house. My best seller was toothbrushes at sleepovers!