100%

funded

Total loan: $10,000

Julia

Flag of United States
Philadelphia, PA, United States / Clothing

Julia's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped me increase inventory and work on advertising my ecommerce business.


Julia's story

I grew up in Hattiesburg, MS in the 50"s and 60's and left home at age 16 to go to Brooklyn, NY to live with my aunt and cousin. My mother was a single mother raising 4 children and working as a domestic. I was academically very bright, worked very hard and knew that I needed to leave the south in order to be able to go to college and ultimately make a change in my future and the future of my family (at the time siblings, mother and any future family I may have). I was a very good math student and I knew was I wanted to used my math skills in some way. I completed high school in NYC and undergraduate in business administration and two masters(one in public administration and one in English). I've used all of my education and maintained my personal commitment to helping small businesses and non-profit organizations. Since 1977, I've worked as a self employed business and tax , an affordable housing manager, a WIC coordinator, fiscal budget officer managing federal grants and finally retired in 2017 as finance director at Boston area nursery school. During all of these various professional incarnations, I married and divorced twice, helped to raise three daughters and am the proud grandmother of one granddaughter; some of the other things that I'm most proud of, is my sense of integrity, respect for others and from those that know me, their respect for me, my personal and professional work ethic and my love of fashion and looking great no matter my size. I've mentored many young people; that mentorship has included professional advice, development of skills, bookkeeping and accounting apprenticeships and at times, appropriate and stylist professional and personal fashion advice.