100%

funded

Total loan: $9,000

Shamaya

Philadelphia, PA, United States / Food

Shamaya's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped fund the purchase of a food truck for the purposed of expanding operations.


Shamaya's story

I am 28 years old with no children of my own, however just awarded custody of my four younger siblings after our mother passed away to cancer last year. Going from being a free spirited 20 year old to a full time single parent of 4 boys (2 in which are in college) has been the hardest thing to adjust to. Although throughout my life I have had to play the roll as the "caregiver" for my siblings growing up due to our mothers drug addiction. I am the eldest child and naturally the nurturer and supporter of my family. My father died from complications with Aids/ HIV when I was 11 however, was absent most of my life prior to his death. Although my upbringing was not the ideal one, it taught me strength, unconditional love, patience and sacrifice. I was determined to not be a product of my environment and to be an example to my siblings that it is possible to overcome any obstacles in life. In 2016 my brothers and I were faced with our biggest life challenge thus far. We had to care for our dying mother and at the end bury her after her fight with pancreatic cancer. It has been the most horrifying experience of my life to say the least and for a moment took me into a deep depression. I refused to give up on myself and knew that I was the only person my brothers had to depend on. Since, I have opened my food cart business and have been working hard to take care of my family and have also dedicated portions of my sales to help families affected by cancer and the auto immune disease HIV through charitable components.