100%

funded

Total loan: $9,000

Rodney

Milwaukee, WI, United States / Food

Rodney's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped fund rental of a commercial kitchen, along with kitchen equipment that will help maximize productivity, and hire employee(s) which will allow us to more efficiently fulfill the high volume of orders received.


Rodney's story

I’m from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Statistics say I am more likely to be incarcerated or worse by the age of 30. I am currently 29 years old, never been arrested, and still here fighting to live above the statistics. I was one of the lucky ones to have both parents and family to keep me on the right path. Growing up both of my grandmothers were cooks and caterers for our families and organizations around Milwaukee and I spent my early childhood and teenage years as their assistant. Thanks to my family and background in sports I was able to attend college out of state. When I was forced to cook for myself, my roommates, and teammates it came easy to me and I quickly learned it was a talent I had acquired unconsciously from my family. Before graduating I ended up getting injured in college and fell into a state of depression because I was unable to continue as an athlete and I became unmotivated to as a student. Forced to move back home, no degree, I was at a stand still with no sense of direction. After deep thought and transition I decided to seek refuge in the kitchen. I prepared 200 wings for our family reunion and my grandma said to me “you know people will pay you good money for those wings? If you love to cook and it comes easily make it your job!”. That advice gave me the confidence I needed to get started. My goal is to take what I learned from my family, and my life to create an avenue for my community to be apart of something bigger than a catering business. I want WingMan’s to be a staple in every community.