100%

funded

Total loan: $5,000

Melody

Flag of United States
Pittsburgh, PA, United States / Housing

Melody's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped us to fund our first single-family investment property in the Pittsburgh region.


Melody's story

I grew up in a mix of being at home with my family and in the foster care system. I entered the child and family system out of necessity due to some mental health issues that were being dealt with at home when I was a month shy of 11 years old. I aged out of the system when I was 18 and have strived to be maintain independence and self-sufficiency ever since. I am a Pittsburgh native and I graduated from Peabody High School, the University of Pittsburgh for undergrad, and I have a Masters of Arts degree in Adult Education and Training from the University of Phoenix. My Doctoral of Education in Organizational Leadership comes from Argosy University. My professional background is plentiful, but includes work in Human Services, Higher Education, and Workforce Development. I come from Steel Center for Career and Technical Education, where I served as the Director of Workforce Development for 2 years. I am a graduate of the Coro Pittsburgh Women in Leadership Cohort XWII that focused on social justice for women in the region. Today, I am the new Director of the Community Resource Center at a local nonprofit organization. My background, both professional and personal gives me insight into the complexity of the human experience. My experience also tells me that when given the right opportunity and supports, people can be their best versions of themselves. My husband Quentin and I are raising 3 wonderful children, Malachi (11), Malcolm (6), and Maliah (4). My dreams for the future include having multiple streams of income for our family and teaching our children how to become financially solvent and self-sufficient.