100%

funded

Total loan: $10,000

Laura

Alameda, CA, United States / Food

Laura's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped us manufacture products for upcoming orders.


Laura's story

I grew up in Los Altos, California, when Silicon Valley was still largely covered by fruit trees. My mother and her family camped and fished in the Sierra, and my own family camped and fished throughout the western U.S. every chance we got. As a child and teenager I was a Girl Scout for 10 years, camping in the Santa Cruz Mountains and backpacking in the Sierra Nevada with friends and with my scout troop. I’m now married, with 3 children, two of whom are in college. My own family loves to camp as well, so we head to the hills whenever possible. I received a BFA in sculpture from the University of Washington in 1977, then later returned to school to study graphic design at San Jose State University. Since then, I’ve worked as a graphic designer, serving clients in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Boston, Massachusetts, for over 30 years. For the last 20 years I’ve owned my own design business, Laura Frank Design. I’ve continued to work as a designer while getting the food business off the ground. Problem solving has always been one of my greatest pleasures and skills. As a graphic designer, I view myself as a visual problem solver for the communication needs of my clients. In launching my food business, I approach each new challenge or obstacle from the same creative perspective — “How am I going to solve this problem? What is the best solution for this situation?” My immediate goal is to grow the food business to the point where I can focus on it full-time and be able to hire employees who are passionate about the outdoors and food. My long-term goal is for my food business to become a benefit to my family and community, and, through its profits, to be able to more actively support environmental causes and homeless needs. And, of course, to be able to spend more time camping throughout the western US and Canada with my husband.