100%

funded

Total loan: $10,000

Luis

Corona, NY, United States / Arts

Luis's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped helps a small business owner support other small sellers who earn their income from the sale of their items at our shop.


Luis's story

I was born in Colombia and since my childhood I always liked doing business. I remember that I rented toys my grandmother and my aunt sent me from the US to my friends. My mother was a dressmaker and taught me how to sew and glue the beads of dresses, and I used to earn money to go out with my friends doing that work. She left me with the ability to do handicrafts as an inheritance. I came to New York at age 21 and worked in a restaurant that allowed me to explore my creativity, because they organized parties and I helped them with the decorations. At that time I met the person who became my mentor and my biggest motivator to create Arte a Palo. He has a lot of knowledge about woodworking and sparked love for this trade in me. SPANISH: Nací en Colombia y desde niño me gustaba hacer negocios. Me acuerdo que le rentaba a mis amigos los juguetes que mi abuela y mi tía me enviaban desde EEUU. Mi mamá era modista y me enseñó a coser y a pegar los canutillos de los vestidos, y era haciendo ese trabajo que conseguía el dinero para salir con mis amigos. Ella me dejó como herencia la habilidad para las artes manuales. Llegué a New York a los 21 años y trabajé en un restaurante que me permitió explorar la creatividad, porque ellos hacían fiestas y yo les ayudaba con la decoración. En ese tiempo conocí a la persona que fue mi mentor y quien se convirtió en mi mayor motivador para crear Arte a Palo. Él tiene mucho conocimiento en el trabajo de la madera y me despertó el amor por este oficio.