100%

funded

Total loan: $10,000

Angela

Flag of United States
Philadelphia, PA, United States / Retail

Angela's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped start our own line of handmade goods and improve our storefront.


Angela's story

I grew up in a rural area of Upstate New York and moved to Philadelphia in my early twenties. I'm a graduate of Temple University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary and Early Childhood Education. I taught for 7 years and after becoming a mom, sought a change of pace that would allow me to spend more time with my children while investing in my community and advocating for a more earth-friendly, baby-friendly parenting style for urban families with little ones. I started daydreaming about CLOTH while on maternity leave with my son (now 5 and 1/2) and by the time he was 2, I was completely obsessed with the idea of starting our little natural parenting store. We had our grand opening 8 days after he turned 3 years old! Nearly 3 years later, we carry almost twice as many products as when we first opened and employ 4 part-time helpers. One of my favorite parts of owning CLOTH is that I still get to be a teacher. I teach a free Cloth Diapers 101 workshop monthly and enjoy passing on my cloth diapering and babywearing knowledge daily in the store. I also recently completed the Center for Babywearing Studies Foundations course as a first step to becoming a Certified Babywearing Consultant and look forward to using this knowledge to further help my customers.