100%

funded

Total loan: $5,000

Serena

Elizabethtown, KY, United States / Retail

Serena's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped purchase glass front refrigeration merchandisers.


Serena's story

I grew up in Shepherdsville, a small town just south of Louisville, Kentucky. I was 15 when I met my future husband. He came to Kentucky to be his brother's best man in my sister's wedding. I told my friend that evening that I was going to marry "that guy". We married one month shy of my 19th birthday. We were young but very grounded. Although I had a wonderful childhood, filled with lots of friends and a loving family, I was never encouraged to follow my dreams, or to even develop dreams. I always wondered what I would become, as if life just picked something for you, without your input. I was in my mid 30's before I realized that dreams come from passion. It was after my father had his second heart attack, and my little 4 year old developed severe food sensitivities that I became obsessed with searching for answers to these problems. My passion was ignited. I wanted to take control of my family's health by providing them with a diet of real foods grown and raised locally. I also began to study herbs and became certified as a Family and Nutritional Herbalist. I am now working to become a master herbalist. There are so many people looking for answers to their health problems and I wish to share my knowledge and passion for natural healing with my community.