100%

funded

Total loan: $3,600

Eduardo

San Francisco, CA, United States / Services

Eduardo's loan finished fundraising, but these other borrowers need your support


A loan helped purchase the paint guns to create higher quality work.


Eduardo's story

I grew up in the countryside of a small Mexican town called Taluca, Calimaya. I’m the 2nd of 4 brothers and my father passed away when I was only 1.5 years old. Because of the burden that was created on my mother, I started working construction with my uncle when I was only 8 years old. When I turned 9 years old, I transferred into working for a mechanic. I’ve been working with mechanics ever since. Once I immigrated to the United States, I was 19 years old and I started looking for work. I went door to door asking for employment and eventually found a job. A job and a place to stay, where an elderly woman was kind enough to give me a job at a nearby dry cleaners and had an extra room I could stay in. However, after about two weeks, I decided to quit. The dry cleaners owners were overworking me and didn’t agree to pay me minimum wage. My landlord had advised me to quit because I could possibly find better work with a higher salary. I asked some of my Guatemalan friends for work and they had an opening. I stayed with him for a year and was very grateful for minimum wage and the treatment I was getting. My boss would notice that I picked up on mechanical skills really quickly and decided to teach me everything he knew. I started off with polishing and then started learning other body shop techniques including paint jobs, stereo replacements and general mechanics. After about a year I was slowly taking over most shifts, however I wasn’t being compensated for it. So I decided to look for work and found a different mechanic that offered me a significant raise. I’ve been with him ever since and he’s even gone as far as giving me more freedom in his shop and trusting me with the clients.