100%

funded

Total loan: $5,000

Otoniel

Flag of United States
San Francisco, CA, United States / Clothing

Otoniel's loan finished fundraising,
but these similar borrowers just need a little more help to reach their goals!


A loan helped open my jewelry business location, pay for the first 2 month of rent, advertise my business, and buy some tools.


Otoniel's story

My name is Otoniel Esau Montes Retana, I’m an immigrant originally from El Salvador. I came to the United States in 2005 with a goal in mind: achieving the American dream; starting my own business to support my family. I’m seeking financing options to help me in this effort; to open my business and provide a better way of life and future to my family. For 22 years I have been working as a jewelry designer and repairer. At the age of 13 I started to visit a jewelry cooperative to learn how design and repair gold jewelry. At the age of 16 I started to work in a jewelry store, I continued working in the jewelry industry until I decided to leave my country in 2005. I live in the United States with my partner and my 2-month-old daughter. In the city of San Francisco I worked in several different jewelry stores. My experience is working with gold, design chains, and rings, and I do piercings and repairs. Three years ago I started to work on my own. I bought some jewelry tools to start my own business. I closed down because I was not able to raise working capital to continue. Now I’m going to continue with my determination to start again. I started already in my home, I have my little shop there and I started to build my customer base. This time is different, I have business assistance from Mission Economic Development Agency –MEDA – to make sure I do it right.